Make Cycle 3: Games & Inquiry

This week’s Make Cycle is all about making games!

I played this a lot when I was a kid.  Photo credit:  "Atari-2600-Wood-4Sw-Set" by Evan-Amos - Own work. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons - https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Atari-2600-Wood-4Sw-Set.jpg#/media/File:Atari-2600-Wood-4Sw-Set.jpg
I played this a lot when I was a kid. Photo credit: “Atari-2600-Wood-4Sw-Set” by Evan-Amos – Own work. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Atari-2600-Wood-4Sw-Set.jpg#/media/File:Atari-2600-Wood-4Sw-Set.jpg

My experience last week has led me to think that creating a game around my inquiry can be a useful way to deepen my understanding of my questions. I went into the summer thinking that I wanted to write a (more or less) formal research plan during the Make Cycles; now, however, I’m starting to think that I’d like to take on the various Make Cycle challenges as a kind of “pre-writing” for my research.

I’m interested in using Twine to create a text-based game that explores power relationships and learning outcomes. I’ve started creating a game that I’m calling “Inquiry.” If anyone would like to work with me on this game, please let me know!

Another resource that CLMOOC participants might look at is the “How I Got There” mission on Youth Voices that Karen Fasimpaur created. Karen described the mission:

A group of us on TTT [Teachers Teaching Teachers] last night started on a “How I got there” mission (activity) to encourage students to track their inquiry and research process. Afterwards, we started collaboratively writing this…Would love to have anyone help out with this.

If you’re interested in participating in the CLMOOC Make An Inquiry activities, please join us! A few resources are below.

Are you interested in inquiry, but not sure where to start? Or maybe you have an idea you’d like to share? Feel free to comment here as well!

To borrow an idea from Dave Cormier, we are attempting to create the Make An Inquiry strand while not exactly knowing where we are going, so your suggestions are really golden.

One thought on “Make Cycle 3: Games & Inquiry

Leave a Reply

