Inquiry

As I took part in the National Writing Project’s Connected Learning Massive Open Online Collaboration (CLMOOC) this summer, I got back into the blogging habit.  I’d like to continue that habit as we move from summer toward fall.

I’ve begun planning a CLMOOC-inspired inquiry for the upcoming semester.  The Connected Learning research synthesis calls for research into the possibilities of using digital technologies to promote student learning, which made want to pursue an inquiry project in my classroom.  At the same time, my experience in CLMOOC and the LA Writing Project Summer Institute brought questions about scale and sustainability to mind.  I want to pursue a project that can be rigorous but also replicable.  I also want to push my own teaching practice into i + 1 territory, if you will:  something that stretches and, I hope, changes my practice, without being so overwhelming that I give up.  (This has happened, quietly, to inquiry projects that I’ve conceived and begun in the past.)

After thinking about all this, I’ve come up with a question:  How can student blogging at Kidblog improve student learning with respect to academics or civic engagement?

My follow-up questions:  What data can I use to measure “student learning”?   What, if any, other areas of learning can I explore, aside from academics and digital citizenship?  (Can blogging promote career-oriented learning, especially in the two sections of the 12th-grade Expository Reading & Writing Course (ERWC) I will teach?

I plan to use the rest of the summer to design my inquiry and read more about Connected Learning and blogging with students.

Leave a Reply

